Who Are Your Real Friends?

Have you ever asked yourself who your real friends are? Or maybe you had to ask yourself if you should be hanging out with them because of their actions.

Finding real and true friends can be a difficult thing to do. Especially if you go to a school like mine. At my school there are a lot of people who seem to be nice when you meet them, but when you actually get to know them, you find out that they are not the person you thought they were.

I used to have a “friend” who was super nice to me for a long time, but then when my best friend met her, she dropped me for her. I tried to be her friend time and time again, but every time we would get close, she would drop me again. Eventually I just told her that I couldn’t be friends with her because she had hurt me so many times. Now, she is being nice to me, but I don’t want to get myself back into what had been going on. Don’t get me wrong, but of course if she tries to talk to me I will talk to her because you shouldn’t just ignore someone no matter how badly they have hurt you. At this moment and time, we are basically acquaintances.

If you want to find out who your real friends are, here are some easy questions to ask yourself:

1. Does your friend honor their words with actions?

2. Does your friend find time for you in their busy schedule?

3. Does your friend laugh with you, but also cry with you?

4. Does your friend remind you of who you truly are underneath it all?

5. Does your friend give you permission to be yourself?

6. Does your friend make you better, not bitter?

If you find yourself checking off all of these boxes for your friend, they are most likely a true friend who will stick with you through anything.

“A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” -Proverbs 18:24

Remember, you are never alone. There is always someone who can help you and someone who is going through the same thing that you are.

Leave a Reply

